St Kitts replaces Panama in T&T’s U-20 Women qualifying group

Following confirmation from FIFA that Costa Rica and Panama will co-host the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, in August of 2020, and that Concacaf has been awarded one additional slot (four in total), the Confederation announced changes to its World Cup Qualifying tournament, to be hosted in the Dominican Republic between Feb 22 – Mar 8, 2020.

T&T U-20 Women’s head coach Richard Hood spoke to the media last Friday, outlining his plans for the build up towards T&T’s campaign which will include a ten-day training camp in Dominican Republic prior to the competition.

The Concacaf Council has determined that Costa Rica and Panama, as host countries of the World Cup, will automatically qualify to the World Cup and will no longer participate in the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship. The two remaining slots in the World Cup will be determined via the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship.

President of TT WoLF and 2nd Vice President of TTFA Susan Joseph Warrick and Head Coach of Women’s U-20 team Richard Hood, during TTFA’s First Media Conference for Hood at the Media Room, Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

For the group stage of the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, to be played at the Felix Sanchez Stadium and Panamericano Stadium, in Santo Domingo and San Cristobal, respectively, Guyana (top ranked team in qualifying Group A) and Saint Kitts and Nevis (top ranked team in qualifying Group B) will be replacing Costa Rica and Panama for the group stage of the final championship. The four groups will play as follows:

Group C: United States, Honduras, Dominican Republic, Cuba.

Group D: Mexico, Guyana, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico.

Group E: Canada, Jamaica, Guatemala, El Salvador.

Group F: Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Cayman Islands.

For the Round of 16, Bermuda (third-place finisher in qualifying Group A) and Barbados (third-place finisher in qualifying group B) will occupy the positions vacated by Guyana and Saint Kitts and Nevis. The round of 16 pairing will be played as follows:

Match #25: 1C vs Saint Lucia

Match #26: 1E vs Bermuda

Match #27: 2C vs 3E

Match #28: 2E vs 3C

Match #29: 1D vs Grenada

Match #30: 1F vs Barbados

Match #31: 2D vs 3F

Match #32: 2F vs 3D

All knockout round matches (round of 16, quarterfinal, semifinal and final) will be played in a single match elimination format, with the finalists qualifying to the FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup 2020.

See Full Schedule